Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree?

Art is an existence that contributes to the country and the society in different ways. However, people who create the art, the artists, could not earn enough to live a lavish life due to the inadequate income they make from their occupation. I wholeheartedly believe that governments should take initiatives to support the painters, poets and composers because their creations supplement the country’s image and carry on the tradition to new generations. The work of local creators can represent the native country’s image to the world in several ways. First of all, if the paintings, traditional music and the sculptures are greatly supported, the nation can attract curious international tourists which could give a positive impact on the economy of the country. For example, Bagan, the city of ancient art forms such as pagodas and stupas in Myanmar which was acknowledged by UNESCO as a world heritage site attracts millions of tourists every year. Secondly, unless the native presentations of art are not suppressed, the makers can enter international art exhibitions and earn a chance to portray traditional drawings and carvings. Who can deny with the fact that art is one of the keys to maintain the heritage and culture of a nation? Apart from language and local attire, the future generations can learn history and customs of their hometown through forms of art. In the age of internet and globalization, it is crucial to pass on what is believed to be the roots of the tribe to the youths. Therefore, the governments should invest in maintaining the centuries old artworks as well as providing necessary funding and support to the new history in making. To conclude, art not only reflects the image but also maintain the values of the nationalities. Hence, the financial for artists should be set aside from the country’s income.