In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Crimes are widely common occurrences in every neighborhood, city, and nation. In some countries, the rate of crime may remain stable whereas in many others, number of crimes are going uphill. This essay will discuss the main contributing factors of crime as well as some solutions to eliminate the factors. There are two main causes that are facilitating the commitment of crimes in many countries. The first of the two is the lack of income. Especially in bigger, highly developed countries, citizens are unable to secure a job because of the highly competitive job market. However, money is still a commodity required for survival, thus, desperate people started stealing or robbing. Secondly, the use of drugs also influences the people to break the law. When drugged, the thinking capacity of a human being is blurred and taking risks are encouraged. For example, the Times 2017 illustrated that of the offences committed in London in 2016, 60% of the offenders were either drunk or on other kinds of illegal substances. Despite the compelling contributing factors to crimes, there are ways to encounter them. One way to tackle the above-mentioned problems is for the government and social groups to provide support for the poor. The authorities could make some arrangements for sheltering the homeless and the communities can also take part in donating clothes, leftovers, and such. On the other hand, people’s access to drugs must be strictly prohibited. This could be done by increasing the legal age to purchase alcohol, imposing higher tax on alcoholic drinks, and increasing police checkpoints to monitor the drug use. If these actions can be done adequately, it can lessen more drug-influenced crimes. In conclusion, support for people without any income and restricting drug transactions could be effective to encounter the dominating factors causing an increase in the number of crimes.