Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. to what extent do you agree

Most educational systems around the world focus on theoretical aspects rather than exposing school children workplaces environment. As a result of this, adolescents do not have a good understanding of work. In my view, teenagers should spend some time in workstations while studying for two reasons: to be exposed to practical assignments and importance of a teamwork. To begin with, a work environment enables learners to understand how the theories they study in class are applied practically. Students who study subjects such as engineering and chemistry will be able to understand how machines or instruments in laboratories are being operated. In most cases, they should be taken, for example, to industries or construction sites to be exposed to work conditions. In addition to practicals, when teenagers are in work areas, they will be in a pole position to acquire soft skills that are not taught in classrooms. These include appreciating the need for working as a team and respecting divergent views or opinions. Similarly, they will also replicate the same in their schools and, at the same time, put more effort in their studies. Eventually, children, for instance, will be ready to, seamlessly, transition to work once they graduate. The reason, however, I do not disagree with the statetement is because if adolescents are not subjected to a job environment at early stages, they will not be competent and lack the necessary skills to survive and be competitive in the job market once the time comes. In Kenya, for example, many employers are ever complaining about incompetent professionals who have joined the market. So, educational institutions should therefore play a role in ensuring the children have a good understanding of work as they study. In summary, theory and practical aspects go hand-in-hand, hence there should be a balance between the two.