Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The usage of technology has been growing rapidly these past years. Now some governments are using it to check what people are doing or what they say on their phones, sometimes even without them knowing that they are being monitored. I believe this kind of usage of technology has more disadvantages rather than being useful. Some people, especially authorities think that checking and tracking individuals have many advantages and logical reasons. First of all, they say it is for the sake of the nation's security. For example, governments believe they can fight international crimes and they will be able to reduce the terrorist attacks with these technologies, hence their country will be safer. Moreover, some people say that with this way of monitoring, even the rate of local crimes, such as burglary will reduce, because if a thief does not know whether he is being watched or not, he won't commit the crime. On the other hand, the majority part of societies, sees the action of monitoring them without their knowledge as spying. In other words, they always feel that they are being watched, and as a result they feel unsafe, even in their homes. Also, social activists believe that this is against of freedom of speech and against the basic human right, which is having a safe personal space. For instance, the rivals of the current governments, or the critics of them might feel threatened in their personal lives. In conclusion, although checking actions of individuals may has some safety benefits, in my opinion it is the wrong method of using technology, and drawbacks are more crucial and more considerable.