Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to many people, for each act violating the law, there should be strict, determined sentences. However, others pinpoint the facts that situations involved in each offence, as well as the presence or lack of a motive should be considered before judging. This essay will elaborate on the two sides of the debate before explaining my opinion of why I am convinced that each crime should be handled regarding to its circumstances. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that punishments should be predetermined and specified for each crime. To elaborate on this, robberies, for example, no matter the reason behind it, the convicted person should face a fixed time in jail. Additionally, it is believed that if individuals know the exact sentences of each crime and understand that there are no tolerant policies; many will not proceed with their illegal plans. On the other hand, some opinions think it is necessary to consider the events of the assault and the factors leading to it. This is because many people may be charged with acts that happened due to an accident or even a mistake. For instance, the law differentiates between a first -degree murder where the person had the motive to kill another; and a second -degree murder where no motive exists and it happens to be an accidental murder. Therefore, it is believed that it is fair to handle each case according to its circumstances. In conclusion, I personally stand with the latter perspective. In fact, many people have been extremely unfortunate and they ended up committing crimes accidentally. While I believe they should be punished for their acts, Justice should not neglect the events that lead to it.