Many people believe that individuals over 65 should not be allowed to continue working. Other think people should be allowed to work for as long as they choose. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Most people are of the view that people of age 65 and above should not be let to work, while others are of the opinion that they should be allowed to continue working as they wish. I believe that older people are holding up positions that should be taken up by young professionals, so they should be let go once they reach 65 years. To begin with, some believe that the levels of productivity of older persons are quite low, and letting them work past their retirement age will lower the overall productivity and revenues of companies. So, allowing older staff, for example, to continue working will reduce income and the level of satisfaction of clients if they are not attended to in a timely manner. Some individuals, on the other hand, are of the opinion that older professionals are experienced in both technical and administrative tasks, hence they will be able to transfer knowledge to junior employees in a company. If retained within an organisation, they are able able to provide leadership and train young workers on how to carry out tasks efficiently. These senior citizens, however, still working are denying young people some job opportunities. In Kenya, for example, the level of unemployment is significantly high and allowing these older generations to work will worsen the situation. In my view, they should, therefore, be asked to go home and engage in some meaningful activities like farming so that employment opportunities can be created. In summary, people have divergent views on whether older workers should be allowed to work or not. I believe they should retire so that they can open up positions to be taken by younger generations in the job market.