Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of changing people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Many exhibitions apply entrance fees for visitors, whilst the remaining offers free entrance. Although charging visitors with admission will limit the museum’s target market, this essay believes that this measure enables the management of museums to improve their facilities and the benefit outweighs the drawbacks. On the one hand, applying a fee to enter exhibitions will make some people unable to afford the tickets. Thus a limited number of people can be the right target market for the museum. For some folks, they may not have the budget to visit a museum thus they pick other places that do not apply any entrance fee. For example, the Gallery of Kota Tua in Jakarta attracts tourists to visit their historical buildings because they charge $0 for the entrance fee. This has attracted a constant number of tourists. Most of them seek free recreational places because they have a limited budget. However, freeing the entrance charge will burden the gallery's management to seek other sources of funds to pay the operational costs. On the other hand, charging the guests for admission fees will enable the management to build a fund for improving the gallery’s facilities. This is because exhibitions are shifting. They create interactive zones within the journey and require the tourists to be active. This kind of activity attracts more guests compared to the traditional museums which only offer a passive activity. For instance, the Science-Art Museum of Singapore offers children the opportunity to colour a sea creature drawing. The drawing will be scanned and it will appear on the big screen. They can interact with the drawing by tapping it on the big screen and it will move away mimicking the real response of a living creature. The management said that since the new interactive zone was opened to the public, it saw an increasing number of people who came to visit. This essay believes that applying fees will bring a greater benefit since they can fund better facilities. In conclusion, even though applying a price of admission causes fewer people who can afford this, this measure will bring more positive effects because this allows the management to enhance the facilities.