Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People have discrepant views about hosting a global sport event. Some think that it is advantageous whereas the others believe it is a waste of money. Personally, I assume that holding a sport event brings more benefits than drawbacks. On one hand, becoming a host puts the country in numerous emergency situations. Firstly, national infrastructure may not be able to adapt to a sudden rise in number of people coming for the reason of watching games in person. It pushes the government to invest vast amount of money in renovation so as to expand its capacity. Secondly, there is a need of an enormous stadium that can hold up to hundred thousand spectators. This construction would cost a lot of money which could be probably used for other reasonable purposes such as welfare, public healthcare, schools and so on. On the other hand, a host of an international sports event would bring plenty of benefits to its nation. Sports event and tourism are said to be a winning combination. Sports tourism is no longer only a matter of sport but it is now a matter of short touristic stays. It is a desirable opportunity when supporters become tourists and make massive purchases on local goods as well as draw on local services. As a result, this activity promotes not only national tourism but also economic development accompanied by inflows in a foreign currency. Furthermore, the country seemingly wins a chance to introduce local culture in addition to its spectacular attractions to global tourists which culminates in longer stay or re-visit in the future. In conclusion, I would strongly believe that holding a global sports event is a fascinating idea because it offers more positive changes to the country and brings new breeze to the society.