In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

With the developments of all parts of amenities in countries, people live longer than before nowadays. This is a healthy sign of a developed country. Although higher life expectancy can cause some issues that have individuals and the public, there are possible solutions to deal with. There are some challenges with the increase of median in life expectancy. To begin with, when people live a long time, the government should take responsibility to pay their pensions. As this amount is being increased, they need to allocate more money for the elderly which could be used for any other useful activity in society. Furthermore, when people are very old, they are more vulnerable to health problems. So the number of ill people is getting high, which will be an extra burden to the health care system in a country. Nevertheless, there are achievable solutions to tackle these problems. Firstly, authorities can increase the retirement age which can help people to contribute more to the country's economy. Consequently, the government can save money as they do not pay pensions. Moreover, when aged people are engaging with work, they are physically and mentally active that will help them to be healthy. As a result, the proportion of unhealthy old people will dwindle and, eventually the health system will not be exhausted. In summary, Even though the elderly may create some problems for themselves and society, there are some feasible solutions to remedy the situation. If the government can take the actions mentioned above, that will minimize the negative consequences of the increasing population of the elderly.