Some people believe that teachers have an important role to play in educational success whereas others believe that it is the student’s attitude that matters. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The impact teachers can make on their student's education is a matter that has always provoked heated discussions. Denying that some children are able to achieve great goals without any adult support would be unfair, but generalizing those specific exceptions believing that the key relies only on the student attitude is equally terrible and also dangerous. I strongly believe that teachers' impact should never be underestimated. Stories of hardworking and committed children have always been well received by the general public. Several scientific studies argue that due to the dominant capitalist system, people tend to appreciate the sacrifice, idealizing self-learning and feeding the idea that meritocracy is the secret of success. Unfortunately, the generalization is not only false but also unfair with the big majority of school populations, as it denies the inequalities among children in terms of socio-economic backgrounds and types of intelligence. The main role of education professionals is not to help out outstanding students that would get great results regardless of any support, but to give tools and guidance to those who have fewer chances of success on their own. The true impact comes to light when, thanks to the strategies applied by the teacher professor, a student breaks the crystal ceiling over their head and achieves goals that were supposed to be out of reach. In conclusion, even though there might exist cases of self-motivated learners, under no circumstance should that be taken as an argument against the importance of teachers in the educational process. Although capitalism has meritocracy as an ally, educational authorities all around the world should be aware that this belief could lead to even more unequal societies.