Some people prefer to give help or support directly in the local community to the people who need it; however, others prefer to give money to national or private charities. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

People have different views about whether we should give support to people in need directly or rely on charities. In my view, both ways can and should be considered equally. There are two main reasons why some would rather offer help directly than donate to charity organizations. Firstly, benefactors might not only want to give money, clothes, food,... to underprivileged figures but also wish to meet them in person. This way donators can also provide mental support through talks, or see for themselves how they have had an impact on poor lives. Secondly, not every charity is trustworthy. There are thousands of charity scams each year, with the loss of billions of dollars. Some people are worried that they might also be fooled, therefore they choose to donate without any intermediaries. On the other hand, many individuals consider giving money to charities as the optimal choice because of these organizations’ profession. Most charities are well trained to hold charitable events effectively, so they are more skilled in helping people in need than individuals. This can be crucial under urgent circumstances when experience makes a difference, such as helping residents who are suffering from floods or fire. Also, various members or branches in a charitable institution increase their access to a wider area. Therefore, more underprivileged people can receive help. In conclusion, while the two given methods are perceived to have their own advantages, I think people should consider doing both depending on their situations. Either way, they are taking good actions for their local community.