Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views in regard to the roles and responsibilities of zoos. While many argue that wild animals would be protected, many disagree with belief that zookeepers are cruel and therefore should not exist. From my perspective, I believe that zoos are useful in keeping the animals safe, however mistreating the creatures should not be allowed or encouraged. On the one hand, zoos can be beneficial to the wildlife as well as their habitat. From the animal perspective, zoos provide the nourishments and living conditions that are suitable for individual species. Many wildlifes wildfires are endangered these days due to the effects of global climate change, and without human help, they would surely struggle to survive in the decades to come. Additionally, zoos take part in saving natural habitats as they help raise people's awareness about wildlife and the environment. When people visit zoos, they will gain knowledge about how fragile species can be in the wild, from that educating themselves about the importance of preserving the earth. On the other hand, I totally agree with closing down zoos that allow cruel actions committed against animals as it could cause negative effects to both creatures and visitors. Firstly, animals that were mistreated are often in bad health and aggressive towards the visitors and each other. Many zookeepers thought that punishing the beasts would make them obey, however, I believe that is wrong, wildlife should be treated with kindness and respect. Secondly, visitors would be negatively affected upon seeing how cruel the creatures are being treated. Letting children exposed to such actions could cause them to apply the behaviours to their pets, which would cause mental and physical damage to both children and pets. Therefore, it is imperative that cruel zookeepers should be punished by the law and zoos that neglect the animals should be closed down. In conclusion, I believe zoos provide more benefits than drawbacks when it comes to keeping animals safe. However, mistreating animals should not be allowed to take place, and should never be ignored or neglected.