Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Living standard is one of the key attributes that determines the status of a nation. Thus, most countries strive to create better lifestyle for citizens by enhancing the economy, however, some cultural aspects are impacted in the process. I presume that the advantages of higher economy overwhelm the sacrifices. This essay will elucidate the necessity of business investments as well as the impact on society. Flourishing economy have several benefits for the nationalities. First of all, better business conditions influence more local and foreign investments creating more job opportunities. This imposes a decline in unemployment rate which inturn reduces the percentage of poverty. Secondly, higher national income is guaranteed from the tax money of business owners and employees. This revenue can be used to facilitate the areas requiring enhancement and of lack. For example, the government can invest in improving the education sector or providing more convenient methods of public transport such as electric trains. On the other hand, a drawback from opening to investors is the loss in valuable resources. For instance, Myanmar, a developing country, permitted trading of natural resources such as oil, woods and jade with international companies. As a result, after a certain period of exporting, the nation will be left deprived of them. Hence, some citizens believe that they are entitled to the benefits of those non-renewable products and are against the idea of selling them. To conclude, it is undeniable that there are certain negative impacts from economic improvements, however, it is small compared to the positive attributes. Personally, I believe that individuals get more gains than losses from this phenomenon.