Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted.

The world's population has been rising recently. It has a harmful impact on major cities, where the infrastructure cannot accommodate all people's needs. This essay will review nowadays challenges and I would propose some workable ideas. Most countries have been facing challenges with overcrowded areas, caused by unequal reallocation of their citizens. Top cities, such as capitals or regional city centres attract more people due to the wider range of working opportunities and potential living benefits. Unfortunately, the reality is different. Despite the fact that bigger city has most of the necessarily amenities for newcomers, not all of them can enjoy it. In fact, according to the latest research of the National City Bureau, every 3rd person, who arrives at the new destination is meeting difficulties to obtain basic accommodation and related facilities. For example, cities with a population of over 10 million inhabitants are in the trap namely due to limited transportation networks with outdated systems of communication. The daily routine involves spending hours in traffic jams and queuing in the markets for food. Moreover, the overcrowding leads not only to pollution increasing but also to different health disorders. As a solution, governments need to be concerned and more proactive in order to keep the situation under control. For instance, some authorities have implemented a limited usage of cars by allowing drivers to use their vehicles only during certain days of the week. Additionally, some companies offer to their employees to work from homes, which has reduced their daily travelling routine. In conclusion, an increased population is a natural process of our social development. Nevertheless, our authorities must do their best in order to maintain the quality of life and environmental protection.