Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease. Who do you think should fund this research: individuals, private companies or governments?

The notion of who should bear the responsibility to subsidise research into treatments of a wide breadth of diseases has become progressively contentious as some point to governments' intervention. In my opinion, whilst their view seems legitimate, financial support from well-regulated companies is more convincing. The most frequently cited rationale for the government's involvement is its obligation to the citizenry. They are indebted to taxpayers and have a responsibility to direct that money back into various services benefitting the general populace at large. One of the salient illustrations of the governments' role in this field is often reported in the disease theory originated by Louis Pasteur while working in a publicly funded university in France. Had he not been granted the chance to begin his work, we would not have the cures for most of our health issues today. Thus, we could question if private companies could sponsor the same without a clear aim and profits. Albeit I concede that governments play a pivotal role in funding medical services, I would still contend that private corporations are more decisive, innovative and could spend tremendously. We are all aware that they are driven by their bottom line, which pushes them forwards to compete, innovate and employ the best minds in the field. This can be most apparently seen in the surge of the hospital chain of VinMed in Vietnam, which started in 2012, becoming the largest hospital brand across the nation by 2017. Not only they provide excellent services to patients at ease in hospitals, but also invest heavily in seeking advances in surgical procedures, stem cell therapy, cancer research and nutrition. Therefore, encouraging private companies like the one presented to step into the health industry to complement the government confer a valid standpoint as we have witnessed the clear and tangible benefits to public health. In conclusion, the merits of the government cannot outweigh those offered by private organisations as they do wonders for medical advancement. In my final thought, governors and health regulators should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between public and private funding towards medical research.