In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays the driverless concept is the leading trend for automobiles development. There are both pros and cons of having driverless vehicles in the years to come. In my viewpoints, I completely agree that vehicles with no driver needed would be superior. There are several drawbacks of having driverless vehicles. Firstly, considering current technology, the driverless cars should require high investment costs since it’s normal for the beginning of product to get in the market. Then, regarding advance products, there should be very limited testing especially in the daily life usage. The limited testing means the higher risks for the passengers to take in consideration when using. Lastly, no driver required means some people are going to lose their jobs. This will increase the national unemployment rate to even worst. Conversely, considering the benefits of the driverless trend, this can lead to effective recuring cost saving as reducing driver. To study closer with investment cost in the long term, it’s believed that the savings will exceed the investment costs. Then, the passenger could travel at the cheaper fare rate. Then, having the program or any equivalent technology that can omit the driver, this could be safer since it could mitigate human errors from driving which may results in decrease in accidents rate. Finally, as the results from having driverless program, there would be more precise on the schedule or traffic management since everything could be linked and evaluated as the whole system. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of driverless vehicles are a lot more valuables. This outweighs the possible disadvantages, as long as we could ensure the systems are developed until the safe stage for human with the reasonable costs.