Some people say that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered that the extinction of some plants and animals species is a priority problem in the environment lately but some others think there are more issues affecting our environment. I will discuss both views and give my own opinion in this essay. On one hand, some people think that the fading away of some types of plants and animals is a big environmental challenge because of their medicinal values to us as humans. That is to say, pharmacists make use of plants and parts of animals as raw materials to produce drugs and for other research purposes and so if these materials die out completely or gradually, there will be lapses in drugs production which is a problem to public health. For example, some parts of white pigs are being used to make insulin to treat diabetes and presently, these pigs are going into extinction gradually which poses a threat to the treatment of diabetes. Thus, the dying out of some living things are detrimental to our health and therefore, our environment. On the other hand, I think that there are other pressing issues affecting our surroundings rather than the loss of plants and animals species and such is the case of global warming. That is, due to the burning of fossil fuels around the globe, climate change is the latest happening and governments are trying to cut down the use of these fuels to save our world today. For example, experts have revealed that by the year 2050, ⅕ of the world will be submerged underwater as a result of global warming and climate changes. Therefore, this menace should be considered more challenging to our environment. To conclude, even tho some people think that wiping out of some species is a problem because of their possible medicinal importance, I believe other things like global warming are more important problems to our society.