In some countries around the world men and women tend to have their children later in life. Why this happened? What are the effects on society and family life?

There is a trend in some countries where young couples prefer to have children later in life compared to previous generations. This phenomenon is inevitable given the changes in modern society, and it has significant effects on both society and family life. The rising cost of living and longer education processes are key factors contributing to this phenomenon. Unlike in the past, the prices of properties and vehicles have skyrocketed to a level that is difficult for young couples to afford, even if they spend a large portion of their lives working. Furthermore, these material conditions are considered necessary for raising children well. These financial difficulties make young men and women lose confidence in becoming parents early in life, so they consider having children later after achieving financial or career success. Another possible reason is the extended education process due to increased competition in modern society. Younger generations are forced to attain higher degrees in response to rising hiring standards, resulting in an older average age at graduation. Consequently, the age of having children is delayed as young people focus on their own lives after finishing their education. This trend has several notable effects. The most obvious one is the aging problem caused by later maternity, which can decrease the labor force in a particular period. In the long term, the social welfare system could be affected due to the decline in the working population, leading to an imbalance between taxpayers and the retired population. However, despite these disadvantages, later maternity can also benefit families. Older parents can better educate their children with more social experience and provide better material conditions. Additionally, since they have passed the stage of striving for a career, they have more time and energy to spend with their children.