Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals opt to break the law after the conclusion of their initial sentence. This essay discusses that the primary reason for this is the lack of employment and practical solutions to this issue could be to educate them in prisons and teach them certain skills. One of the main reasons for convicts to repeat their offence could be the lack of job opportunities. A number of individuals released from prisons are not employed due to the lack the knowledge and skills. As a result, they have no source of income to survive in the society. Hence, they are forced to acquire funds by committing crimes again. To tackle these undesirable effects, prompt measures have to be taken. Firstly, criminals could be educated in prison. This is because most offenders never had a chance to complete their formal education, which could be a contributing factor to their offences. Moreover, learning basic subjects such as science and mathematics can improve their understanding and aid them in thinking rationally before committing another crime, thereby reducing crime rates. Another solution could be to introduce them to occupational skills. Exposing prisoners to jobs such as hair-dressing and cooking helps them gain valuable experience for their lives outside the prison. Additionally, these skills contribute to better employment rates among ex-prisoners as employers prefer to hire individuals with previous experience rather than individuals who do not possess such skills. In conclusion, many prisoners commit crimes after being released as they are not employed. To prevent this, criminals could be educated about basic subjects and occupational skills during their prison sentence.