In many countries paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this fast-moving society, new technologies are introduced from time to time and especially during this pandemic situation people tend to pay for their needs using mobile and it has been started to spread rapidly across the world. This trend is comparatively better than using direct cash and this has many other advantages too. During this global virus crisis, people are advised always to use contactless methods for their daytoday operations. Therefore, the public is now reluctant to use cash or even credit cards to make payments. They started to seek new methods to pay for their daily essentials and mobile payment apps have become one of the crucial ways to transfer money. It is a really fast and convenient way that can pay your bill by clicking a button. For an instance, in Sri Lanka, one of the leading private banks has introduced a mobile app and they have gathered all the leading supermarkets as their partners. They started to give amazing discounts while paying via the application and I also gradually became a member of this application due to its privileges. Nevertheless, Paying via mobile may have some drawbacks too. One of the major risks is the security of your financial accounts since you need to link your bank account and if you do not have thorough security in your mobile and the paid app that you choose, then you put your savings at risk and a 3rd party can easily access your bank accounts. Therefore, it is mandatory to uplift your device security before you start using mobile for payments. For example, according to the World Cyber Crime Society reports, there is a sudden rise of mobile money frauds across the globe. Therefore, you need to be cautious when you use these new technological methods. In conclusion, I must say, even though it has some negativity, the uses of the new mobile payments should be encouraged among the society. In addition, it is the public responsibility to mitigate the risk of cyber attacks by increasing your device security as well as by selecting a reliable payment application.