Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Wildlife protection has become one of the major concerns of many nations. Governments spend financial resources to conserve endangered animals. However, a segment of society is concerned that wildlife preservation in the modern world is a waste of money. I totally disagree with this notion. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, protecting wild animals ensures a prosperous future on a sustainable planet for the next generations. Every form of life is an essential part of the ecosystem. The extinction of one animal species may disrupt the balance of the ecosystem and pose a threat to other animals. Moreover, wildlife has a direct impact on physical and mental wellbeings. Take, for instance, rainforests. They produce oxygen and absorb carbon dioxide making the air clean. It is impossible to imagine our planet without trees and forests. Adding further, even though extinction is a natural process, the rate at which it is happening now is not. Animals are becoming extinct in response to human beings' devastating activities. For example, deforestation, illegal fishery, human habitation, poaching and many more. Nowadays, around 26,500 species are estimated to be at risk of extinction, the exact number is difficult to calculate. Therefore, I believe that people should take responsibility for their actions and protect all forms of life on this planet. To conclude, I personally feel that human beings should bear the responsibility to preserve nature. Every tree and every animal is essential in nature, governments should fund their habitat conservation.