In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reason for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are keen on exploring the origin of their current accommodation. There are several causes behind this trend, which is approached in different ways. Firstly, one of the deep-rooted causes for this phenomenon is that knowing the history of where they are living enables them to understand the value they are having. For example, being aware of the current land as the result of competing between two regions in which many soldiers sacrificed may help residents to protect and maintain carefully, so as not to take it for granted. Secondly, having historical knowledge of one’s house makes them feel proud of this. Especially, if the house has an extended story, it could be added value in some acquisition deal. Finally, another reason for this tendency is that it could be a story or a legend to tell to the next generation. When it comes to researching methods, one of the most effective ways is searching on the Internet. Thanks to the development of technology, the Internet plays an important role in fulfilling all necessary information for human life. For instance, just by one click, everything they need is shown apparently. Also, people could be able to ask either the broker, the previous house-owner or eventually its neighbourhood before buying a house to know clearly about its history. Last but not least, books and newspapers are also considered to be critically important for carrying out this research. In conclusion, there are many means to explore one’s interest or broaden one’s horizon about where they reside. Of course these actions stem from certain purposes.