Everyday, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think it is happening and how can we resolve the problem?

While thousands of people worldwide are dying of hunger every day, developed countries of modern world waste millions of tons of food on a daily basis. In this essay I would like to share my opinion about this issue and propose a resolution for this problem. To begin with, fast- food restaurants offering cheap meals are at almost every corner. Many of these restaurants provides all you can eat options, or extra large menus which are impossible to eat, huge portions of these meals end up in the dumpster. We can observe the same phenomenon in most of the supermarkets. It has been proven, that an ordinary customer prefers to buy larger packings for better price even when they know, they will not be able to eat the whole pack. The food research which was contudcted 10 years ago in the USA showed, that yearly leftovers of an average American family would provide enough food for family of five living in Africa. The solution is right in front of us. It is understandable, that companies will not agree to give up the profit they make, but in my opinion better marketing strategies might help to reduce the food waste globally. For instance, some all you can eat restaurants in Prague offer their leftovers with 50% discount after 8 pm which is a great deal for those, who are in a financial need. I also believe, that people in general should buy only as much food, as they are able to eat. To conclude, I think that the issue of ordering or buying more food that we are able to consume is something we need to work on. And while doing so, we can also support restaurants and organizations which try to save the food for homeless people etc.