Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Using animals in medical research has been a topic of heated debate for decades. They are used to experiment with new medicines, cosmetics, and etc. A segment of society is concerned that the exploitation of animals in laboratories should be banned. Others, however, believe the opposite. Both points of view need to be addressed before formulating an opinion. Nowadays, many medical research and cosmetics tests are carried out on animals. The proponents of using animals in laboratories believe that newly developed drugs can save people's lives. Numerous experiments on animals ensure that the drug is safe for humans. Take, for instance, vaccines. It usually takes years to develop and test it. This way, scientists can constantly work on eliminating the side effects and make the drug efficient. Consequently, several animals can save the lives of millions of people all around the world. Nonetheless, the exploitation of animals violates their rights since they are never given a choice of not participating in experiments. In laboratories, animals go through the pain and suffer only because they cannot articulate their wish. Animals can experience pain identical to people. For example, dogs utter sounds when they are in pain. Yet, researchers subject them to tests that often lead to permanent damage and even, death. Moreover, testing on animals is unnecessary as viable alternatives, such as synthetic tissues are available. To conclude, I personally feel that testing on animals should be strictly controlled by the government and be banned because it violates their rights. They should not go through the pain and suffer for human benefit.