People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly understandable that most of people wish to be able to keep all of the money they earn than pay tax to the state. However, in fact without tax a state cannot develop well. As for now I totally disagree with such an idea even though I also hope for such an ideal idea. Firstly, it must be put in mind that one of the biggest incomes of a state is from tax paid by the citizens. Most of the states rely much on tax, for instance is Indonesia. Around 60 to 70 per cent of their annual income is from tax. So, could you imagine how would it be for Indonesia if all of the people of Indonesia refuse to pay tax and prefer to keep all the money for themselves? I guess the state might develop very slow or not develop at all. Secondly, as all of us might have known that the concept of the tax we paid is by us, from us and for us, which means that the tax we paid will be used by the government to fund the project made for us. For instance, to build road, toll, bridge so we have access for our car. Essentially, such tax will be used to develop the state and for the sake of the citizen themselves. Without such toll, road or bridge we cannot use our car to travel to a remote area. Thirdly, the tax is also used for paying the operational of the government, for instance to pay the salary of the governments and the officials, build governments’ building, pay monthly electricity and water bill. Without tax our government might not operate well, lack workers or officials. Based on the abovementioned, I do believe that it is our responsibility as the citizen to give return to the state as we have been living in the land of the state by paying the tax. Therefore, as for now I totally disagree with the idea that people should keep all of the money they earn than paying tax. Regardless, I also hope the government could find a formula to be more independent.