Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are two views on the subject of increasing the prison term. On the one hand, it is believed that this will reduce the felony percentage, while on the other hand, it is also argued that this will make society feel less guilty. I will discuss both views and personally, I feel that there need to be other ways to make a person feel the severity of his offence. High penalties are often enforced for serious crimes to control the felony rate. This fear factor makes society think twice before committing a crime. A study by Oxford researchers, for instance, revealed that the citizens of a country with a low crime rate are afraid of penalties by the judiciary. Society tends to commit wrong-doings if they were not made fearful of the system which will make them spend a lot of time in prison. People have different thoughts on the duration of the sentence. People who have committed crimes should also have other punishments, such as community service or attending anger management classes. These types of punishments can be carried out in various forms, such as community service or attending a short course on behavioural enhancement. So, it will be good to have a second chance, and the person responds and commit to not indulge in criminal activities. For example, children of the offenders are not offered jobs in the company only on the basis that their family member is in jail. People tend to change if they were provided with the right kind of training. In conclusion, in order to decrease the crime amount, a long prison sentence for criminals is one of the possible solutions. However, it should not always be the case, as it can increase the suffering of the victims.