Parent should spend more time with their children helping them with their homework. Agree or not?

Some people argue that parents must allocate significant times to their offspring with their school work. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay I will discuss two main reasons for parents dedicating more of their time to helping their children with homework. Firstly, both mother and father play an indispensable role in providing a backdrop in their child’s life by establishing some ground rules for children from very early stage of their life. Here, children will absorb convections and codes of conduct which they then can follow by themselves, hopefully leading to an absence of truancy and delinquency later on. By spending time with children during homework, parents are indirectly instilling a desire for the knowledge in children and further themselves as individuals. Additionally, not only they are helping children with diligent studies but also instilling moral and ethics which move in the tandem with the former. For instance, when I was just a girl, my father used to help me with science subjects and always encouraged me to do best whatever subjects I chose, which helped me to incentivised my efforts for getting higher grades at the school. Therefore, I believe that the attitude towards education and educational bodies does commence not at the school but earlier at home. Another reason for parents allocating more time to children ’s homework is that the school teacher may not be able to provide individual attentions to each and every pupil. With approximately 25-30 children in each class it would be somewhat difficult to be both available as well as pedagogical. For instance, a Danish survey from 2015 reported that teachers in general complained about limited times to guide each student and more than often children with difficulties were felt behind in terms of homework and failing exams behind as a consequence. Hence, parents equally should play a role in their children ’s life by enhancing their knowledge as well as participating in their further learning. In summary, parents play a huge role in terms of instilling the desire for knowledge and further learning. There, I fully accept the proposition that parents should spend more time with children during school work in order to demonstrate their interest in their children and to participate in their learning so children can grow up to be successful individuals.