.Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is an irrefutable fact that art portrays the history of a nation beautifully. Many countries spend a considerable amount of funds on supporting the arts and culture. Although, a segment of society is convinced that taxpayers money should be spent on more pressing issues such as education and medical care. However, both points of view need to be addressed before formulating an opinion. The proponents of funding the arts and culture believe that it helps to nurture patriotism and harmony among the population. As a result, the nation's sense of tightness can be enhanced. Take, for example, China. It spends a large amount of money to restore the lost heritage before the Cultural Revolution. Secondly, without government funding, some artists cannot earn their living. Without government funding, these talented people would not be able to work and inspire others. Nonetheless, art and culture cannot affect the economy and improve living standards. There are more vital sectors that need funding. The government can fund healthcare, road infrastructure and education. This in turn can facilitate the development of a healthy nation, improve the economy and, substantially, living conditions. In my opinion, fulfilment of basic needs is more important than promoting national heritage and culture. For instance, a sick and uneducated person cannot fully value a piece of art. To conclude, despite the fact that arts and culture promote harmony in society, I personally believe that the government should not fund the arts. Instead, money should be spent on more crucial sectors of the economy that can improve the quality of residents' lives.