Environmental problems such as pollution and climate change are increasing. The government have taken measures at global level but they got only few solutions. Why is it so? How can this problem be solved?

As devastating floods and terrifying wildfires are showing their power to the world, humans first time realize that the environment is deteriorating. For this reason, even though authorities have had few plans to deal with problems such as pollution and environmental degradation, people are advocating governments to do more. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of these two problems and give reasonable solutions for each. To begin with, governments can minimize not only atmospheric pollution but also marine pollution. It is true that they have improved a lot on emissions of greenhouse gases, yet the ocean contamination is the main reason why the global temperature is rising. For example, scientists have proved that the ocean can absorb up to 90 per cent of the total amount of carbon dioxide in the air due to some marine life. However, these creatures are dying because of human activities such as oil leakages and overfishing. To solve this problem, a stricter intergovernmental law must be introduced immediately. Another problem people are aware of is environmental degradation. This trouble is also led by humans’ behaviours such as deforestation, an issue that authorities are coping with. Nevertheless, one global warming contributor which is overlooked by some governments is the usage of gasoline vehicles. Although one traveller on average can contribute only several tonnes of carbon dioxide annually, by considering the overall population, it can be tremendous. To tackle this trouble, individuals should proactively opt for gasoline-free vehicles for travelling, while the authority could subsidize those who do so. In conclusion, lots of environmental problems mainly begin with human activities. Although governments have already done something on these issues, people think they can do more, such as enacting strict laws to regulate marine affairs or encouraging citizens to use gasoline-free vehicles, to mitigate climate change.