Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the question of young people studying a second language from primary school has received a great deal of public attention. Although this suggestion is not without disadvantages, I strongly believe that the advantages will be far more significant. On the one hand, there still exists a variety of drawbacks for this idea. First, since a national education system requires students to study a number of subjects, such as maths, history, literature, they spend plenty of time on solving all of the daily homework gotten from their teachers. In fact, balancing their study and play time is extremely important for children ’s education development, which means that studying a new subject could lead to having less leisure time of them and causes for their life imbalance. Second, children may get confused because of learning many languages at the same time and this could have a negative impact on their development. For instance, it is argued that bilingual children develop the ability to talk more slowly than monolingual kids. On the other hand, there have numerous positive effects of studying a foreign language from the primary level of children ’s development. First, it is evident that kids can learn faster at a young age because they are less self-conscious and shy. This means they could easily pronounce the right sounds and their foreign language will be enlarged most naturally. Second, children have a great interest in learning language through games. Thus, looking into their teaching and playing could be a pleasure for them. As a result, children learning languages is not a hard process as it is for adults. In conclusion, I totally agree that learning foreign languages at primary school will be more beneficial even though there are some tiny disadvantages.