Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion

Art portrays the history of a country beautifully. In order to promote art among the population, some museums and galleries have no entrance fees. However, I am not in favour of a free admittance due to several reasons. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, as we know, anything that comes for free does not have much value. The same goes for art -related venues, if they are free, people will simply not understand the importance of it. Subsequently, the primary idea of promoting arts may be lost. For example, Registan Square in Samarkand was free of charge for a month. As a result, many people were coming just to spend time with their friends. Later, the government had to introduce entrance fees again. Moreover, if art galleries become overcrowded, people who truly want to discover the paintings may constantly be distracted by those who come for entertainment. Adding further, entrance fees help art venues to cover running costs. More specifically, any museum has a number of maintenance expenses such as cleaning, air-conditioning, paying salaries, regularly painting and etc. The government will have to financially support the venue if it stops charging people for entrance. These funds could rather be spent on more vital sectors. For instance, on public health care and education. To conclude, I personally believe that museums should charge visitors. This may be beneficial for both, the venues as they can get money to maintain themselves, and individuals, they will value art more.