It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that it is more necessary for pupils to study about national history, rather than the history of the world. While I agree that schoolchildren should learn about local history, I would argue that schools should teach them world history. There are a number of reasons why school children should learn about local history. Firstly, knowing about national history fosters a sense of belonging and pride in each child. Thus, by studying how early generations fought and made sacrifices for the freedom of the country, these youngsters will appreciate the value of life and the freedom they enjoy today. Secondly, young people also learn about the origins and core values of their motherland through history lessons. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of each traditional event, and be motivated to carry on the best customs for generations to come. However, schoolchildren should be encouraged to have some knowledge about world history. The globalisation trend makes it necessary for pupils to have a deeper understanding of the history of the world. Through these lessons about the past of the world, youngsters will form a mutual understanding of different ethnic groups and cultures over the world. Another important factor is that a study of world history provides youngsters with an overview of the interrelationship of nations and how historical events, such as colonisation, have shaped our contemporary world. In conclusion, I believe that it is equally important for children to know about their local history and world history.