The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Write at least 250 words.

Child obesity is a challenging dilemma in the modern world, especially in Western society, where the proportion of obese children has grown by almost 20% in the last decade. This essay will elaborate on several main culprits of this issue and propose some outcomes of this problem. There are various factors leading to the rise in the number of obese children. First of all, the diet of children is mostly ignored by their parents. This is due to the ignorance about the essential nutrients that are needed for the growth of children and the harmful effects of unhealthy foods on their kids. Therefore, unhealthy meals, such as ready-made meals, which are a quick and easy option for many parents, are usually fed to children, leading to detrimental substances entering the body. Another reason for the large number of obese children is the numerous advertisements. For instance, there are a great quantity of colorful advertisements about fast food brands like Pizza Hut or McDonald's appearing on every device, attracting children to eat fast food. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, children with obesity tend to have more health issues than normal children, especially cancer. In addition, cancer is a dangerous health problem, which may require the children stay in the hospital for an extended period. Not only that, overweight children often experience bullying from other kids because of the difference in body size. For example, according to a survey in 2022, among 100 students in a high school, more than 30% of them have discriminated against obese people. This can damage obese children's mental health and make them feel unconfident whenever they go out. In conclusion, it is evident that there are several causes of this obesity among children and a variety of negative effects. Society must propose methods to address this issue.