We live in a world in which we are constantly exposed to advertising. To what extent does advertising influence our choices as consumers, and what effect does it have on our lifestyles? Discuss the issue and give your opinion.

Being bombarded with advertisements has been part and parcel of our lives for decades. However, it is debatable if advertising has the desired impact on our ways of living and consumer behaviour, or a high proportion of it is entirely fruitless. This essay argues that the power of advertising is not as absolute as it is intended to be. There is an opinion that advertisements are the driving force of the modern consumer society. People are being told what to wear, what to eat and what to crave, and follow this pattern thoughtlessly. Indeed, there is a great deal of truth in this viewpoint. With so many colourful billboards, TV commercials and pop-up ads on the Internet, it is often difficult to tell if we really want something, or have just been made to want it. Not only are advertisements numerous, but also they are frequently designed in collaboration with experienced psychologists and seem to be bound to hit the target. However, in my view, the amount of advertising surrounding us is its own worst enemy. The feeling of being constantly manipulated can make the customer hate the product instead of desiring it. And annoying commercials in the middle of a gripping series or a heated football match do not improve the situation. To make matters worse, piles of useless brochures and leaflets in postboxes and at front doors get on everybody's nerves and go straight to the rubbish bin, unread and almost unnoticed. Thus, it seems that a great deal of advertisements are a lost cause and are not worth their cost. To summarise, although the impact of advertising on our lives is definitely immense, it is not always as effective as it is expected to be, and in some cases might even prevent customers from buying the product.