Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world’s resources. Do you agree or disagree?

Advances in technology have resulted in cheaper flying tickets thus an increase in air travel but this has a knock-on effect on the environment with many environmentalists struggling to cope with pollution. Many people enjoy the benefits provided by aircrafts as they save time. However, there are some people who claim that flying should be banned due to the adverse effects it has on the environment and I firmly agree with this statement. This essay tends to discuss the reasons for my viewpoint. Firstly, airplanes are responsible for contaminating the atmosphere. For instance, a rent report in my country established that aeroplanes contribute to 40% of global warming. This is because burning jet fuel releases a vast amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas which in turn traps heat in the atmosphere thus making it the primary contributor to global warming and climate change. Additionally, the screeching noise of tyres and roar of the engine generate sound pollution. Therefore, this makes it evident that airplanes account for pollution. Secondly, aeroplanes exhaust natural resources. For example, planes are made up of 80% aluminium, so excessive production of aircrafts uses up aluminium ores. Moreover, the aviation fuel mainly constitute of hydrocarbons, overuse leads to exhaustion of fossil fuel reserves. Consequently, the world's production of hydrocarbon will soon decline. This it becomes apparent that airplanes are one of the root causes for the depletion of world's resources. To conclude, although air travel is the most convenient form of journey, the after-effects it has on the environment is detrimental. Hence, I agree that restricting flying will curb pollution.