Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. What is your opinion regarding this statement? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In recent years, many cities are facing the issue of traffic congestion due to the increased number of car ownerships. In my opinion, car ownership is considered one of the major factors of a huge traffic jam occurring in numerous places. This essay will discuss why the writer supports this contention and what steps can be taken by the government. It is true that a plethora of cities in the world have immense traffic on the highways because standards of living have increased significantly. Consequently, more and more people could afford cars as basic amenities in their lives. Moreover, in big cities, most families have working parents or spouses, so they commute by their cars from one place to another. For an instance, recent research shows that there has been a ten per cent increase in car ownerships of people who reside near San Francisco, California. This has resulted in a one hour delay to reach the metro city of San Francisco as there has been a huge traffic jam on the highway for the past many years. Therefore, the rapid increase in car ownership has dramatically affected the transport system. To discourage people from using their cars, the government can take a number of steps. Firstly, they can impose toll taxes when people travel from one city to another with their personal cars. Secondly, they might close few lanes for single drivers on the highways, which are likely prone to traffic congestion issues. This will probably encourage them to share cars with others, and the number of cars present in rush hours will decrease. To illustrate, in Los Angeles, a traffic jam has slightly reduced after the government closed few lanes for single drivers recently. Hence, these measures might resolve traffic jams to a certain extent. In conclusion, although, the trend of people using their personal cars has jumped; eventually has led to traffic issues, the government can impose strict laws of transport to alleviate this problem. I believe that it is also one's responsibility to understand this situation and follow the rules.