Write about the following topic: Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many languages die out annually. It is argued by some individuals that this is not crucial as life will be comfortable if there are few languages in the world. I do not agree with this notion as it may be convenient regarding the ways we communicate, but at the cost of rich cultural values. The linguistic heritage of each nation dictates the way any society thrive with rich cultural values, which is not possible in a foreign language. Languages spoken locally affords an opportunity for the transfer of the traditional methods of living together. For instance, the Tamil language spoken in India keep the society in a well-connected bond of love and affection, which will fade away if the language is lost to a new language. Secondly, it is difficult to pass values in a foreign language to offspring, which will be detrimental to any culture. On the other hand, a reduction in the number of languages spoken may lead to a way of communication. It is believed that this trend will make communication easy by removing language barrier. For example, when a person goes abroad he will not be needing to learn a foreign language if he speaks the same language. Hence, this will make things easy for everyone, however, the cost society has to pay in the form of loss in culture would be significant. Finally, the volume of history written in a certain language will be on the verge of extinction, if that language dies out. In conclusion, fewer languages may make it easy to communicate but this will be at the expense of loss in cultural value and rich historical facts.