Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been lots of discussion about the rising rate of traffic accidents. As a result, some hold the opinion that harsher punishments for drivers are the key measure to solve this situation; however, many individuals argue that other methods should be employed and emphasized. In my view, considering other approaches would result better. On one hand, it is argued that by imposing stricter punishments, drivers will be discouraged to drive carelessly. These punishments can include heavier fines, license suspension and even prison for offender drivers. This manners may be effective to obligate drivers to observe the rules, but this cannot completely prevent drivers from accidents; for instance, when a drunk driver experiences a crash, the driver may not be lucky enough to survive in order to be penalized in future. Also this is not a wise decision to fine the drivers heavily while the price of ticket is even more than the price of the vehicle maintenance. On the other hand, the opinion of applying other methods is held. I believe that enhancement of roads safety would probably has significant outcome on reduction of the accidents rate.There are several approaches that can be used in order to boost the roads safety, to begin with, awarding good drivers, this award can be given to careful drivers in many ways, for example, safe drivers that have not violated any traffic rules, will receive a discount on their tax. Secondly, governments can invest money in widening roads or setting more signposts. This approach can save many lives. In conclusion, although imposing harsher punishments may discourage drivers to contravene the traffic rules, but I’m on the other opinion which is employing other methods.