Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that students in higher education should learn subjects that they really want while others suppose students just need to study subjects that they related to science and technology which is expected to be useful in the future. I will discuss both these views before giving my opinion in this essay below. On the one hand, many people opine that students are not allowed study other subjects except for science and technology subjects because people believe that they will benefit in the future. It can be seen that those subjects play a fundamental role in development of mankind. With advance of science and technology, high technical equipments are invented to serve for people and have a contribution to improving quality of people ’s life. For instance, it is difficult for designers to work if they do not have laptop or smart phone support. On the othe hand, many people argue that students may learn whatever they want. From my perspective, I totally agree this point because this is a basic right of students that it need to be protected. Althought science and technology subjects have an positive impacts on stride of people, other subjects also play an important role in social life such as subjects about economic, social science and humanity. For example, if we did not have media majors, we would not have newspaper to read. In addition, we also need politicians to lead the country and need economists to develop the country. In conclusion, it is important for students to study their favorite subject. Besides, we may encourage they read or research subjects about science and technology in their freetime.