1. Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Bachelor’s degree holders in some countries, such as America, usually need to work hard for years to pay back their student loans. Thus, it is argued that the government should waive college tuition fees, irrespective of students’ socio-economic backgrounds. Proponents of tuition exemption believe that making higher education free is beneficial for the economy. In this era of modernization, there is a rising demand for highly qualified workers. For example, science computer graduates are welcomed with lucrative salaries everywhere. A surge in the gross enrollment rate would give rise to a more educated workforce who contribute to economic growth. However, it is essential to remember that there are different approaches to that outcome. For example, people interested in Data Science can apply for a boot camp to learn how to code. After several months, they can write the same code as ones spent four years in college. Similarly, we have platforms like Coursera or Udemy, where people can conveniently study the specific course that suits their needs at any time. Moreover, unlike high school education, a university needs a tremendous amount of funds and experts to establish. The number of PhD holders eligible to teach at the college level is limited. Besides teaching, they also need to guide their students to do experiments to write their graduation thesis or scientific papers. These experiments are often costly and time-consuming. Hence, there is no way to make college education free without sacrificing quality teachings. In conclusion, I firmly believe that there is no need to abolish tuitions as there is a lack of resources, as well as the already existence of many affordable forms of higher education.