Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some argue that having a university degree is more promising to land a good career whereas some presume that hands on experience from work is a better way. Despite the fact that both a degree and work experience are crucial, I believe that having a tertiary certification can attribute to a more secure future. Having a graduate degree has several benefits in today’s highly competitive job market. First of all, a degree is evidence of an individual’s hard work and accomplishment. It is a accreditation that shows that a person has the necessary expertise to apply to their fields of interest. Secondly, a degree is also regarded as high social status. Since a lot of investments such as persistence and intelligence were committed, people look up to graduates. For these reasons, companies are more willing to offer higher roles and pay to someone with a certificate. On the contrary, it is undeniable that experience plays a key role in the field. Years of knowledge and skills obtained in the field can shape a person into a professional without having to invest many years for education. For example, a mechanic job is one which one cannot handle without fully knowing each part of the equipment. Hence, in such delicate fields, fresh graduates could have less possibilities than those with accumulated work. In my perspective, though work experience is imperative to acquire a good job, it is more likely for a person with higher education to be given the vacancy as well as a higher pay and position. The justification for this is that those without certified qualifications are unable to prove their competence whereas universities offer a lifetime valid certification with details of curriculum. To sum up, field experience eliminates time investment in education and contributes to building skills, however, having a degree gives more opportunities and incentives in the job market. Thus, I agree with the notion that attaining higher education offers more promises and stability in job.