Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a perpetual controversy among people as to whether parents or schools must play the key role in teaching children how to be useful members of society. While some hold the position that only one of these two groups can fulfil the task at hand, there are many others, including me, who strongly assert that both the parents and the teachers have an indispensable role in shaping the characters of the young. On the one hand, one school of thought might argue that on account of the fact that family is a primary social unit and it is the first one that almost each and every individual grows into, it is imperative that parents instill moral values in the children right from the beginning; in fact, no age is too early to start. Thus, in order for children to lead a great life and become functional members of society, they should be actively aware of the basic moral values such as truth, integrity, freedom, kindness and respect and what better place to learn these virtues than the comfort of a home and under the care of parents? In addition, social skills are as crucial as moral values in order for children to be fully functional within the premises of society; hence, parents play a fundamental role in both developing and molding their children ’s personality, as they thoroughly imitate the actions of their parents, particularly in early childhood. On the other hand, there is another school of thought which argues that owing to the fact that children spend a great deal of their three childhood stages known as early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence at schools, it is only safe to assume that parents are not the only major influence on the children; in fact; teachers at pre, primary, and high schools play an equally important role in the formation of their character. Moreover, since school is the very first place where they get to interact and communicate with their peers, it can both nurture their social skills in terms of concepts such as discipline, collaboration and even empathy and teach how to behave and react with one another; consequently, this will hopefully prepare them for the role they will later take on in life based on their psychological characters; for example, both introverts and extroverts must be put to test by school officials using standard methods, for this exposure, when done properly and in the safe hands of teachers can help them find their roles as good members of society. Additionally, where parents are not educated enough to teach their children, teachers can sufficiently influence the behaviors of their students. To sum it all up, I entirely maintain the idea that parents and teacher both have equally paramount roles when it comes to raising children and turning them into useful and purposeful members of society; in fact, their roles are collaborative and complementary.