Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

Examinations have always been used to assess students’knowledge. Some people argue that ‘pen and paper examinations are not the best to evaluate peopl’s academic abilities. First of all, I believe that traditional exams have some advantages as well as disadvatages. Testing scholars help them to move from one academic stage to the other.Some students feel more responsible and do their best to achieve the best grade. Examinations show how much each learner has consumed the academic materials. Nevertheless, traditional examinations do not match individual’s skills. Some students feel anxiouswhen they sit exams.Some learners are better at verbal performance rather than doing tests. If it is required to expressideas in written form then the students with messy or sloppy handwriting cannot get satisfactory grades. I believe this approach is unjust and all students ’ skills and abilities must be taken into account while testing them. Furthermore, cheating in exams is undeniable. Traditional exam questions mainly consists of multiple questions. So whoever can cheat score higher. Therefore, results are not objective. In addition, not all students have the level of interest in certain subjects. Having their knowledge tested in the field that they are less keen on makes them feel under pressure. ‘Pen and Paper examinations create stressful environment. In order to be succesful in exams students participate in rote learning and memorize curriculum materials. Learners who sre better at cramming pass exams. There is no doubt that traditional exams lead to practical skills to be neglected and students become ‘test wise’ We have to bear in mind that not being able to pass outdated exams is not a sign of being a failure. For example the most famous business magnate and sowtware developer Bill Gates dropped out his university as he could not achieve satisfactory test results. Therefore. I strongly beileve taht conventional exams are not capable of discovering students ’ “hidden skills” Finally, to have less preassure on students, exams must be reduced in number and then removed completetly eventually.