Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Although many parts of the world still consider fossil fuels to be their primary sources of energy, there is an increasing number of countries resorting to alternative sources to serve their energy demands. While a shift towards utilizing solar or wind energy such a trend would cause some problems, I am convinced that the overall impact has been tremendously positive. Admittedly, the drawbacks of recently-discovered sources of energy are evident. Chief of these is that the trend towards using alternative types of energy would probably place a heavy financial burden on the authority and companies as they will have to allocate a huge amount of money and time for purchasing and developing high-tech gadgets and new facilities for harnessing solar as well as wind. This is because ưind or solar energy takes users a great amount of time, knowledge and various equipment in order that they can make use of these natural resources. Consequently, many countries, especially those with a poor economy, are still unable to use this power source. Added to this is the fact that alternative sources of energy are unstable as they mainly depend on weather and climate conditions, which make them inaccessible in a number of regions during several periods of the year. Therefore, new sources of energy are currently not a viable solution for the majority of the world population and unlikely to replace fossil fuels in the near future. Despite the negatives aforementioned, the benefits of the trend towards utilizing alternative sources of energy are more significant. The key argument is that while the burning of fossil fuels generates greenhouse gases and emissions, which cause numerous detrimental effects on the environment, using renewable energies may reduce the burden on the environment. It is obvious that the utilization of solar power releases no emission at all, so it will facilitate the demands of power at almost no environmental cost. Second of all, fossil fuels are not unlimited and with the overexploitation and worrying waste of oil or gas, these sources of energy will soon be depleted, which will potentially threaten the economy if there are no alternative sources. As a consequence, there is an urgent need for the research and development of environmental friendly and long – lasting sources like wind or solar energy. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of relying on alternative energy sources overshadow the drawbacks, and this is not only a positive but also an inevitable development.