Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, population in some parts of the world are increasing constantly. Governments of some countries limit the number of offspring a couple can have by enforcement of taxes on each addition. Some argue that this method to constrain the population is compulsory and just for a government, however, I disagree with the notion for the reasons which will be elucidated further. First of all, the citizens deserve a freedom of choice on how many kids they want, and their idealization shouldn’t be restricted by any law. For example, some prefer big families to small and some don’t want any children at all. As long as the parents can financially and emotionally support their children, they should be granted to have as many as they desire. Secondly, government is responsible to maintain welfare of their citizens, thus, refraining population is unethical. Their focus should be creating a prosperous nation by means of economy and military, rather than deciding how many infants a household can raise. Despite the imperative need of money to become financially stronger, instead of imposing taxes on babies, they should consider acquiring from other cogent strengths such as tourism or imports. On the contrary, restrictions and monetary charges maybe the most effective way for overpopulated countries. For example, China was facing insufficiency of commodities two decades ago that they were pressured to execute a one-child policy to handle the situation. Unless the measures were taken, the people will suffer starvation and a decline in wellness. To conclude, I believe people should be granted the right to decide how many children they want, and it is not the role of government to refrain. Nevertheless, countries facing critical issues with excess population may need controls.