It has been observed in many countries recently that fewer students are choosing to pursue studies in science. Why is this happening? How might society be impacted by this?

In recent years, several parts of the world are witnessing a change in educational preferences. There is currently a lack of students who choose to study science in universities and colleges. This is due to several reasons, and it can have adverse impacts on society. In this essay, I will discuss both the reasons and effects of this phenomenon. There are two main causes why fewer learners are choosing science as their major. The first reason is that these fields are more difficult and demanding than others since they require long hours of hard work, study and experimentation. Professor Hassan, a Chemistry University Professor, admits that students of science need to deter outer distractions from their study plans, which could lead to the destruction of their social lives. As a result, these educational fields appear to be less attractive to youth. Another remarkable reason is the shortage of employment opportunities available for graduates in scientific fields. Therefore, students prefer to study subjects such as economics that could secure a future job in an easy way. Consequently, this phenomenon has two detrimental effects on society. While the number of science students decreases, the number of scientific job vacancies increases, which leads to the lack of scientific developments and inventions. This would deter governments, for instance, from protecting their citizens from biological and chemical threats that are imposed by national enemies. In addition, the labour market will be unbalanced and many graduates will find themselves unemployed. For example, if the number of economic and business graduates increases, the rate of unemployment among officials, managers, and economists will increase. To conclude, the shortage of choosing science leads to economic, financial and health issues in society. In conclusion, the lack of learners who prefer scientific subjects is caused by the difficulty and demanding labour market for its graduates. Accordingly, countries will suffer economically, financially and physically. In short, governments should encourage students to learn science and specialize in those majors