The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

In this day and age, it is not difficult to see that the global population is growing at a rapid rate. Several people claim that this situation is now the greatest issue of human beings. In this essay, I will illustrate the cause for this trend before giving the reasons why I lean toward the statement mentioned above. To commence with, it is clear that advancements in technology, which contributes to better healthcare services, have led to a population boom at the present time. With this development, more illnesses are cured, thanks to new medicines and treatments, and general public health is improved significantly. As a result, child mortality has declined dramatically, compared to itself in the last decade, and the average life expectancy of the community has increased. All of which make a huge contribution to the world’s population throughout the years. Some people argue that there are more serious problems that need to be solved, nonetheless, I am convinced that the ongoing increasing population is the most severe issue that we encounter. It triggers a wide range of other concerns that directly affect individuals, as well as the community, such as overcrowding, crime and pollution. Consequently, not only does the quality of their lives decrease, they will have to deal with numerous other nuisances. For example, people who live in densely populated areas will have to bear with either contaminated air or insects that spread diseases, which will eventually have negative impacts on their well-being. Additionally, if the governments do not have efficient solutions to hinder further disadvantageous consequences of this problem, there is a high possibility that it will be exacerbated and will threaten not only our well-being but also the environment and all creatures. In conclusion, it is undeniable that an accelerating population, which is caused by developments in technology, leads to a plethora of drawbacks. Hence, I am of the opinion that this is the most problematic issue in terms of general public health and other problems that it could bring about.