Nowadays people prefer to look on internet for medical advice instead of going to see a doctor. What are the reasons for it? It is a positive or negative development?

In recent time, people take assistance from internet inspite of consulting a health professional. Personally, I believe that this trend has more demerits due to certain reasons which will be explicated in this essay. The first and foremost reason is that stride in technology as umpteen number of unauthorized articles are published on various search engines and websites. As a result, multitude consults these sites and tries to cure their ailments without considering its long term repercussions. Ergo, the remedies for the cure of diseases mentioned on these sometimes proved to be useful for minor illness, but detrimental impact are more than benefits. For instance, according to world health organisation 67% patients reach to advance stage of their illness by implementing online remedies in developing nation’s. Thus, the availability of remedies on several sites proved to be detrimental. Another chief cause is the time constrain as they find it wastage of their precious time by visiting healthcare centre. Moreover, it is feasible to procure medicines without prescription eventually, the people match the symptoms of their ailment which are described on the sites and try to cure by themselves without acknowledging its sideffects. Indeed, consulting a doctor puts a financial strain on the pocket. To illustrate, overconsumption of paracetamol and azithromycin without doctor’s prescription results into kidney failure amidst majority of population in India. Therefore, time constrains and easily availability of drugs are the reason for hike in consultation via internet. In compendium, I reiterate that number of health sites, getting medication easily and to save some penny’s people seek advice from internet.