In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, remote working is becoming more popular for people because using computers, the internet, and smartphones increase significantly. In addition, people do not have to commute to their office like they have done so in the past. In this essay, I will examine both advantages and disadvantages of the development of work from home. On the one hand, working remotely have several benefits. From my point of view, there are two main reasons why people like working from home. Firstly, working from home means that people do not spend time travelling from home to their workplace and they could save money from transportation. Secondly, since employees do not travel to work, they will have more time to spend with their families. Besides, they can utilize their time in self-development. For example, one can have more time to study about becoming a merchant on an online website. This is what they could not do if they have to commute to work for two hours a day. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to working remotely. Some jobs require networking and socializing such as salesperson, personal trainer etc. Interacting virtual would be difficult to see and understand what clients are thinking because a salesperson could not see the client’s body language. Moreover, training and onboarding new employees online would be less effective than face to face meetings. For example, introducing new staff via Zoom or MS Team did not make any human interaction. It could not develop any relationship among employees. In conclusion, the development of work from home has both benefits and drawbacks. However, we should consider combining them by allowing employees to choose flexible day to work from home and work at the office.