In the past,when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It has been pointed out that most learners completed their tertiary education in their home nation previously, while currently an increasing number of opportunities are offered to students to learn overseas. Personally, I opine that this situation benefits pupils in terms of their creativity and social skills, whereas several detriments should also be taken into account. On the one hand, learning in a foreign country provides learners with a vast majority of chances to communicate with local residents who have different cultural and economic backgrounds, which not only enriches their thinking strategies but also can brush up their communication skills. For instance, most Chinese teenagers who are studying in Australia say that compared to their friends who are in China, they have more chances to interact with local students who have a wide range of mindsets. As a result, they have developed creative thinking and their social skills have been improved through discussing assignments with local peers. On the other hand, having a learning journey to other nations causes various difficulties to learners and might be detrimental to a person's mental health. As different countries have their own lifestyles and languages when students study in another nation, they have to deal with the language barrier and cultural differences. If a person is unable to tackle these issues well, they will lack self-confidence, which may harm their self-esteem and leads to several mental problems. For example, a significant percentage of graduates who have completed their master's degree in the UK present that they still remember the circumstances when they studied in the UK, they even could not purchase foodstuff at supermarkets as they did not know how to do a basic talk. They always felt lonely and depressed. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about the benefits and drawbacks of studying in another country, I am of the opinion that studying overseas has benefits, but it brings problems to people and even hurts learners ' mental well-being.